Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Two ZAH students among winners of 2018 Patzer Award

Michael Hanke

Dr. Mattia Sormani

The Ernst Patzer Foundation is awarding up to three prizes each year for the best refereed publications by PhD students and young postdocs at the MPIA and the ZAH.

In 2018, two ZAH scientists will receive this award:

  • Michal Hanke (ARI) for his paper on "ATHOS: On-the-fly stellar parameter determination of FGK stars based on flux ratios from optical spectra" (Michael Hanke, Camilla Juul Hansen, Andreas Koch, Eva K. Grebel, 2018, A&A, in press). Michel Hanke is PhD-student supervised by Eva Grebel.
  • Dr. Mattia Sormani (ITA) for his paper "A theoretical explanation for te Central Molecular Zone asymmetry" (Mattia C. Sormani, Robin G. Tress, Matthew Ridley, Simon C. O. Glover, Ralf S. Klessen, James Binney, John Magorrian, Rowan Smith, 2018, MNRAS, 4725, 2402)

The award winners will be honored during the Patzer Colloquium and the following Patzer Reception on November 30, 2018 in the lecture hall of the MPIA.

Background information
The Scientific Ernst Patzer Foundation was established in 2001 by the widow of the Philosopher Ernst Patzer. The goal of the foundation is to support young scientists in the field of astronomy, in particular at the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy in Heidelberg and ZAH.

For more information see <link https: en careers ernst-patzer-award _blank external-link-new-window internal link in current>

zum Seitenanfang/up